Accountants body unveils new leaders

Keto Kayemba CPA Keto Kayemba, Chairperson of the ICPAU Elections Committee

The Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (ICPAU) unveiled a seven-member leadership council, which will govern the body from 2020 to 2022.

Keto Kayemba, the Chairperson of the ICPAU Elections Committee, announced the team during the 26th Annual General Meeting of ICPAU held virtually on July 30.

Council members are elected by full members of ICPAU. A minimum of 3 seats are reserved for women and 5 of 7 elected members must be practicing accountants.

One member is appointed by the Minister for Finance, Planning and Economic Development, from a professional or regulatory body established by an Act of Parliament.

Three are ex-officio members: the Accountant General, the Auditor General and the officer responsible for higher education in the Ministry of Education.

And the 7 members that were elected this time are Ronald Mutumba, a practitioner at Mutumba Mukobe & Associates; Gloria Tuhaise Wakooba, deputy director of Procurement and Disposal Department at Bank of Uganda; Prof. Laura A. Orobia, who heads the department of Accounting & Finance (Academics) at Makerere University Business School (MUBS); and Constant Othieno Mayende, a practitioner at CMK & Co..

Others are Geoffrey Byamugisha, a practitioner at Ernst & Young Uganda; Josephine Okui Okwakol Ossiya, a practitioner at Rona & Partners, and Chief Finance Officer at Bujagali Energy Ltd; and Stephen Ineget, a practitioner at KPMG East Africa.

The ICPAU Council is composed of 11 members and is headed by a president who is deputized by a vice president.

The President and Vice President will be elected from amongst the new Council members at their first meeting.

The tenure of the previous Council ended on June 30. According to the Accountants Act 2013, members of the Council (other than the ex-officio) hold office for two years and are eligible for re-election or reappointment for a further term of two years only.

ICPAU held electronic elections for the leaders, in light of COVID-19 social distancing requirements. The electronic elections which started on 30 June 2020 and were held for 2 weeks until 15 July 2020 are legally provided for, in the Accountants Regulations, 2016. According to the Regulations, only full members of the Institute who are in good standing are eligible to vote.

Spread the love